Pretend Baseball 2007

The best thing about the Final Four? It’s the start of the new baseball season. And as I have done for the past 15 or 16 years, I spent nearly 2 hours with some of my old friends, drafting a new team for our fantasy baseball league.

I’ve done pretty well in the past, but every new season is a new chance to be the top or the bottom of the league. So, here’s how I did this year with the $300 cap

  • catcher Paul Loduca
  • first Conor Jackson
  • second Ian Kinsler
  • third Garrett Atkins
  • short Derek Jeter
  • OF Grady Sizemore
  • OF Andruw Jones
  • OF Brian Giles
  • Pitcher Johan Santana
  • Pitcher Tim Hudson
  • Pitcher Felix Hernandez
  • Pitcher Javier Vazquez
  • Pitcher Octavio Dotel

Of course this wasn’t the team I planned to draft. I never get that group of players. Other owners nabbed players I was just a pick away from getting. Vladmir Guerrero has been a member of Tuck’s Friars for years, but I missed him by one pick this year. This is the first year I’ve used a first pick on a pitcher, Johan Santana. Some members of last year’s regular season champions (first and second half) didn’t get on my team this year but it wasn’t for a lack of planning or trying. David Wright, Guerrero went somewhere else.

Derek Jeter is back with the Friars along with Javier Vazquez who better have a better year.

Some of these guys won’t last until the All Star break before I kick them to the waiver wire and others will carry me until October.

Tomorrow night is the first game of the year! Oh….I love baseball season.

Leave a comment

Filed under Misc.

Leave a Reply

