My Time to Quit

Maybe it’s just this time of year, when we’re all making resolutions to straighten up and clean out that part of our lives we want to change. I’ve noticed a huge increase in “quit smoking” advertisements online, on tv and on radio.

Well…I’ve said it before, but this is really “My Time to Quit”.

I’ve been a dipper for about 15 years. I started, like a lot of people, when one of the tobacco companies gave me some freebies. It grew to a big problem for me.

Nearly every day it was the last thing I did before bed and one of the first things I did after waking up. Going through a can every day, which adds up to more than $1,000 a year.

I set January 1st for my first day. I made it to the afternoon of January 1st. I threw out the rest of that can and started over. I made it til around 3 o’clock of January 2nd. I asked my Sunday School class to pray for me because I knew I couldn’t quit on my own.

This week, I did a lot better, going Tuesday and Wednesday without anything. I stumbled today but will throw away the rest of the stupid can I bought today when I go to bed. That will be the last time. Won’t it?

I didn’t realize how hard this was going to be. Websites say one can of dip is equivalent in nicotine to 60 cigarettes, so I’ve been running with 3 pack a day folks for nearly 3 decades.

Thing is, I don’t enjoy it anymore. I made it the last couple of days without so much as a craving. I’m using nicotine gum and mints and lots and lots of coffee to replace the stimulant my body craves.

So say a prayer for me tonight. Send along some good thoughts my way in the early afternoon. If I’m going to stop at a tobacco store, that’s when it’ll be. I can do it. You can help.

4 Comments

Filed under Misc.

4 responses to “My Time to Quit

  1. Anonymous

    Well, since no one has asked… I will … are you still “tobacky” free… or did the temptation get ya?

    Don’t be too hard on your self… the goal is a good one, keep trying until you achieve it, we’ll all be proud… hang in there.

    Todd

  2. jamey tucker

    I did pretty well my first week. For the first time in 15+ years I went more than 8 hours without.
    In fact, I made it through last Tuesday and Wednesday with no dip.

    Then, for some reason I pulled into a tobacco store for a can. I dipped that afternoon and night and then dumped the rest in the sink.

    I’ve stumbled a few more times but am still on track to quit for good.

    Funny thing is: the day I walked into a tobacco store I wasn’t really feeling much of an urge. I was on the phone with a friend and the next thing I knew I was pulling a can off the rack.

    It’ll happen. But I’m also a realist. I’m not going to quit quitting until it’s for good.

  3. peggyphillip

    Hang in there. I was a smoker for thirty years until I quit the first time in 2004. I was smokefree for eighteen months and then fell off the wagon again. I no longer think about not smoking for the rest of my life. I now just say that I won’t smoke today. And at the end of each day, I know I’ve got two more than I would have had, otherwise.

  4. bishop

    Jamey,

    Give that habit over to God and I promise, he will deliver. That’s the only way you will be able to stop. God can do it.

Leave a Reply

