New Site

“Patience is a virtue.”

I must be pretty virtuous by now. The new website for my ministry is finally up. Working with web interfaces is a lot like learning how to ride a bike. It can seem like getting up and going is nearly impossible, but when you finally “get it”, tis quite simple.

I’m wishing I had more to post about the local tv business but the truth is, I’m afraid you’ll think I’m gloating.

I can’t begin to describe how refreshing this new job is in Nashville. As you can imagine, I seriously wondered how I’d like carrying a camera again, shooting my own standups, writing and then editing my own pieces. I figured if I could get through the first couple months without wishing I had stayed put, I might do okay for a couple years.

Well, it’s been nearly 7 months and, if anything, it’s getting easier.

Some days I wish I had shot a little more video or could find more video to shoot. Some days I have the tally button on go when I’m walking to the building and there’ve been a couple times when I thougth I was rolling when I really wasn’t. I’ve rolled on an interview with a half-dead battery on my light. I’ve rolled on an interview with either the wireless microphone transmitter or receiver turned off. But I think most of the stories look pretty good. As my friend John Pearson, the sports director in Huntsville likes to say “it’s good enough for local tv”.
Last week I learned one of my packages showed up on CNN and FOX 6 in Birmingham. My grandmother saw it which was nice. And you know, I don’t remember the last time one of my stories in Memphis showed up on a station back home or on CNN, and I had photographers on those.

I’m going to try to remember to start carrying my digital still camera around to snap a few shots for the faithandethics website and for here. Plus, you never know when you might run into Nicole Kidman at Target.

Leave a comment

Filed under Misc.

Leave a Reply

