Happy Emancipation Day!

Today marks my second anniversary of leaving the station on the river in Memphis. Time has flown by and, looking back, I can’t believe how many changes have happened in such a short amount of time.

I drove home that afternoon, after learning the company I had worked for for 13 years had reneged on it’s contract offer, not unhappy or worried at all. Our house had just sold and we were set to move out in less than 3 weeks. We didn’t know where we would go or even if we’d be able to move into another house without a job.

Two other job possibilities didn’t come through so I dove into my part-time business as a full-time small business owner. We moved into a rental house while we tried to figure if my business would pay the bills.

A few months later, convinced we were going to be okay, we decided to build a new home. I turned down a job with a Memphis company offering a 6-figure salary because I didn’t feel God was leading me in that direction. After turning it down, my business took off even greater.

We moved into our new house in August and a month later, WKRN called to offer a job as a vj. I turned it down 3 or 4 times, completely secure in minding my own business and confident we would be fine. In October, something led me to change my mind and I’m glad I did.

We’ll be moving out of this brand new house tomorrow and into a hotel for a week before moving into our 4th house in two years. I guess this all sounds so chaotic, but really it’s been great.

Not once have I wished to be back at the WREG. Not even for a fleeting moment. Nashville feels a lot like home and my new job has restored my excitement of working in television news.

I write this today not to bad-mouth my old station but to encourage anyone who’s going through major changes.

A lot of times it’s hard to see where you’re going until you look in the rear-view mirror.

1 Comment

Filed under Misc.

One response to “Happy Emancipation Day!

  1. ragamuffinwriter

    That word hit the spot. Thanks man.

    Oh, and tell whoever was offering you the 6-figure job that the ragamuffinwriter could use some love.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

