Funniest Movies

I love lists. Back in the 70s and 80s when those Book of Lists covering just about any topic or group you can think of came out, I had a stack of them. I’m kind of like the John Cusack character in “High Fidelity”, when he makes a top 3 or top 5 list of his old girlfriends, most painful breakups, best songs for summer, best dance songs, and top 5 first tracks on an album.

So I was especially interested in Bravo’s 100 Funniest Films that debuted over the weekend and is airing constantly now. I’m a bit surprised at where some of the funny films have hit their chart. “Annie Hall” was #28 or so, “Monty Python’s Search for the Holy Grail” was way up in the 30s or lower 40s. When The American Film Institute ranked the funniest films about 6 years ago “Annie Hall” was in the top-5. “Some Like it Hot” was number 1.

So far I haven’t seen any films on Bravo’s list older than the mid-70s. Guess they’re trying to appeal to a younger crowd.
Since I’m a big fan of comedies and especially romantic comedies, I’ve got my own top 10 list. Here’s mine, let me know yours.

10: Porkys
9: Animal House
8: Holy Grail
7: The Jerk
6: Vacation
5: Dumb and Dumber
4: Airplane
3: When Harry Met Sally (favorite movie of all time)
2: Annie Hall
1: Planes, Trains and Automobiles

So many others deserve to be here too: “Meet the Parents”, “The Nutty Professor” (Eddie Murphy’s version) “Some Like it Hot”, “Meatballs”, “This is Spinal Tap”, “Wayne’s World”, “Annie Hall”, “The Sure Thing”, “High Fidelity”, “Serendipity”, “Best in Show”, “Parenthood”, “Ferris Bueller’s Day Off” to name just a few.

But “Planes, Trains and Automobiles” is the one movie I laughed the hardest watching.

5 Comments

Filed under Misc.

5 responses to “Funniest Movies

  1. Scott

    I was surprised Ferris Bueller’s Day Off wasn’t even in the top 50. Like you, I was disappointed that many older comedies were either left off the list or were way down the list.

    My #1? Monty Python and the Holy Grail. That movie is quoted more than any other.

  2. Southern Girl

    I haven’t seen the list, and since you say they don’t have many older films on there, this one probably isn’t, but “Arsenic and Old Lace” can send me into hysterics every time. It never gets old!

  3. hornet289

    I can’t believe Planes, Trains, and Automobiles failed to make this list. It was bad enough that it was not mentioned on the AFI list a few years ago, but this list had Moonstruck for crying out loud. Was that even a comedy? Why PT&A doesn’t receive any recognition is beyond me. Easily John Candy’s best performance, and of course the rental car counter scene is one of the best ever.

  4. Trevor

    Where’s “Billy Madison?”

    Stupid and funny…is there a better combination?

  5. jamey tucker

    The thing I love about PT&A is how hard I laughed throughout the movie, and then started to cry at the ending.
    The last scene when Steve Martin’s character walks through the front door of his home and introduces John Candy’s character to his family gives me chills every time. Then when Steve and his wife embrace and kiss the camera shows John Candy gripping his hat as if he’s remembering how he would embrace his late wife.
    I loved the rental car counter scene too, but my favorite scene (and the funniest) is when Owen shows up to give them a ride to Wichita and he’s got this tick in his speech, like he’s hawking a loogie. Then, in what couldn’t have been timed any better, Owen spits tobacco, wipes his mouth and then shakes Steve Martin’s hand.
    Easily John Hughes’ best work. I’m waiting on a special edition DVD with lots of extras.
    I’m laughing now just thinking about it.

Leave a Reply

