It’s Finally Over

Update: The commenters are right. My memory skipped the year with Fantasia. Meanwhile, in today’s newspapers there’s an AP story about the Birmingham connection to Idol. Turns out: Diana Degarmo was born in the Magic City.

There must be something about those FOX viewers in Birmingham. For the third year in a row, a Birmingham man made it to the finals of American Idol. Ruben Studdard won it two years ago, Bo Bice finished runnerup and now Taylor Hicks. I imagine this show is giving news directors of the other stations in the Magic City more fits than any other show in history.

I liked seeing and hearing Al Jarreau who sounded like he stepped out of time machine from 1986. It was also pretty cool to see Meat Loaf but that segment with Kat was kinda creepy. Meat didn’t sound all that great, like the years have taken a toll. I will admit, I rummaged around to find my Bat Out of Hell cd to listen to tomorrow.

I liked the duets. The only thing that would have made them better was if Jerry Reed appeared to sing Amos Moses with Kevin the chicken little dude. Wouldn’t that have been awesome!

We don’t need two hours of American Idol though. Two hours just to for a 10 second announcement of who wins.

UPDATE:
Is this the most anti-climactic show in history? It’s like watching a telethon. I did crack up with the nerd seeing Clay Aiken sneak up behind him. (I’d freak too, by the way). I don’t mind hearing Clay sing, it’s watching him sing that creeps me out.
UPDATE:
So another Birmingham man wins American Idol. I never thought Taylor would have made it after the first few rounds, even though I liked his sound. I don’t think either Taylor or Kat will be a gigantic star. Chris and Mandesa may sell more records. Lisa Tucker should do well too. Elliot should find an audience with the Harry Connick Jr. crowd.
I am very interested to see the overnight numbers from Birmingham if anyone wants to post them (anonymously I’m sure) or e-mail them to me. I’d love to see how tonight’s numbers there compare to the year Ruben won or when Bo was in the finals.

And now…we can get back to our lives on Tuesday nights.

2 Comments

Filed under Misc.

2 responses to “It’s Finally Over

  1. Shari

    Maybe you have to have the right flavor of hormones to enjoy seeing Clay sing. ‘Cause it perked mine right up. 😉

  2. Anonymous

    Actually, Reuben was from 3 years ago. The year after that, Fantasia and Diana DeGarmo were the finalists. Fantasia was from North Carolina, and Diana was from Georgia. I suppose you could think of Birmingham as the “New England Patriots” of American Idol.

Leave a Reply

