A Fine Tribute to Alicia

A friend of mine, Chris Welch of The Huntsville Times wrote a very fitting tribute to Alicia Smith Heaton who passed away suddenly this week. Visitation is this evening. I know my general manager will be there and I’m going to try to finish up in time to make the drive to Lawrenceburg to see Terry.

Alicia was one of the sweetest and friendliest people I met while working in Huntsville. Though we worked at competing stations and I didn’t know her very well, she always was quick with a hello and sometimes a hug when I did see her. Soon after I made the move to Memphis, I got a call after my first story or newscast. It was Alicia who was also in Memphis. She simply called to say hello and welcome me and told me I would do fine there.

Keep Terry in your prayers. These next few days are going to be tough.

1 Comment

Filed under Misc.

One response to “A Fine Tribute to Alicia

  1. Wendy Cabler

    I am 29 years old and I remember Alicia Smith as the first woman news anchor in “my life”. She was wonderful, cheery, chipper, always had a big smile on her face. I watched her all of the time when I was a kid and of late, had wondered to where she had disappeared. This is such a sad time for me, as I know it is for all of you. Such a tragedy to lose someone who was such an inspiration to us all. My heart and my prayers go out to all of you and especially to Terry. She will most certainly never be forgotten. With much love…

Leave a Reply

