I’m Secure Enough

to admit this. I like Barry Manilow.

I wouldn’t go saying it around the hunting lodge (much like I wouldn’t talk about “Brokeback Mountain”) but since the 1970s I’ve enjoyed Manilow’s music.

I think of his music every New Year’s Eve because when I was growing up, Manilow was a featured performer on Dick Clark’s Rocking Eve. During the 80s and early 90s, after the ball dropped, Clark would introduce Manilow who would sing “It’s Just Another New Year’s Eve”. It sure beat Auld Lang Syne since we didn’t have a clue what that meant.

In high school a few of us guys would have a New Year’s Eve party which pretty much amounted to bringing your girlfriend to my house and making out for a few hours. I got a lot of sugar through the years to this song.

Manilow isn’t invited to sing on the New Year’s Eve show any more and you won’t hear that song anywhere else tonight. But it brings back great memories of high school parties and kissing your best girl when the clock struck midnight. Thought I’d share it with you.

It’s just another New Year’s Eve,
Another night like all the rest.
It’s just another New Year’s Eve,
Let’s make it the best.
It’s just another New Year’s Eve,
It’s just another Auld Lang Syne,
But when we’re through this New Year
You’ll see, will be
Just fine.

2 Comments

Filed under Misc.

2 responses to “I’m Secure Enough

  1. Anonymous

    I’ve loved Barry Manilow since he sang at Lafayette’s Music Hall in Overton Square in the ’70s. When my kids were young, they liked him almost as much as I did. But now that they’re teens, it’s not “cool,” so they’ve moved on to other music. Too bad.

  2. bishop

    I have the ultimate barry manilow Cd!

Leave a Reply

