Oh Scarecrow….

Moving is always hard. This move to Nashville will be tougher than others because of the friends we’ve made here. No matter how much you say or think you’ll keep in touch, time has a way of making close friendships nearly disappear.

I’ve moved away from lots of close friends before. In college it was my buddies John Dinkens, Mark Turner, Rick Greene and Brian Daniel. We stayed in touch for awhile, but now we’re spread across the country and touch base only once in a while.

I’ve been fortunate to have some friends that were so close we pick up right where we left off whenever we talk. In Huntsville there’s Steve Johnson, a reporter at WHNT. We talk by phone often, at least once or twice a week during football season. Funny that we rarely ever see each other but when the phone rings we talk like we were working together earlier in the day.

Leaving here means saying goodbye to a couple of close friends: Mike McCoy and Joe Larkins. Mike and I have been tight since we met at church 8 years ago. Our families vacationed at Disneyworld together a few years ago and they just left our house after dinner and a not-so-great game of Trivial Pursuit. Larkins and I enjoyed each other’s company while we were working at 3 and even anchored together on a few testosterone heavy Daybreaks. We’ve actually talked more these last few months than when we shared a newsroom. I’ll miss that.

Orison Swett Marden once said “We are part of all we have met. Everything we have seen, heard, felt, or thought has had its hand in molding us, shaping us.”

I hope that is as true for the people I’ve been around as much as it is for me.

1 Comment

Filed under Misc.

One response to “Oh Scarecrow….

  1. Joan Carr

    I’m going to miss you, Jamey! In case you haven’t been filled in on the gossip, I’ve left 3 and I’m now working for the Health Dept. I enjoyed working with you on weekends those many years ago. Your great attitude made that onerous job a little more bearable. Good luck in your next endeavour in Nashville…from what I’ve heard it sounds like it’s perfect for you and your unique interests and abilities. Plus, you’ll get to live in the Music City and take in a lot of good music!

Leave a Reply

