The Funniest Man in the World

I’ve been watching the Kennedy Center Special of the presentation of the 2005 Mark Twain Prize to Steve Martin.

Imagine, it’s ratings time when the networks put on their best shows of the year and I’m watching PBS. In fact, I’m taping it to watch again.

Steve Martin, one of my favorite actors is also the funniest man in the world. I’m convinced of it after watching this 2 hour retrospective of his career.

“The Jerk”, “Dead Men Don’t Wear Plaid”, “Three Amigos”, “Roxanne”, “Parenthood”, “Father of the Bride”, “Leap of Faith”, “All of Me” and, IMO the funniest movie I’ve ever seen, “Planes Trains and Automobiles.” And that’s not even mentioning the countless appearances on Saturday Night Live and Johnny Carson and David Letterman (anyone remember The Amazing Flydini?)

Dave Barry was equally funny tonight with one introduction. The clips of Martin and Gilda Radner were priceless as they danced off the stage and into the crowd in the SNL clip.

My favorite quote of the show was from Carl Reiner quoting Steve when he said “Carl, when I die I hope there’s at least one person at my funeral who’ll say ‘there lies a rich man’.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Misc.

Leave a Reply

