I’m down with a virus

A couple of weeks after installing broadband, and I have my first virus. I don’t know that my computer has ever been infected before, but this is frustrating.

It’s a trojan horse virus called csmss.exe that automatically disables your virus protection. Tonight I upgraded my zone alarm and then my Norton Anti-Virus to 2005. Norton will not protect my computer.

csmss loads on startup. You can’t delete it and since Norton won’t work, I don’t know what to do. I’ve been fooling with it for hours, searching the internet for solutions. The only one I’ve found so far requires you to go into safe mode and then into dos and rename the file before deleting it manually.

I’ve tried that, but my DOS knowledge isn’t what it used to be and I can’t remember how to rename a file in DOS.

I think I got the virus from the music sharing program Kazaa. DO NOT DOWNLOAD THIS PROGRAM! And if you have it: DELETE IT IMMEDIATELY!

This virus isn’t crippling my computer, but it does keep Norton from working and it causes Windows Explorer from starting. It also causes some programs to start running.

Anyone know what to do here?

jt

4 Comments

Filed under Misc.

4 responses to “I’m down with a virus

  1. Shari

    Hi Jamey. I enjoy both your blogs, miss seeing you on the news, and appreciate all the kind things you’ve said about my pastor (Dr. Rogers). šŸ™‚

    You might try going to: http://housecall.trendmicro.com/ and running the free scan they offer. That was the only place I could find to remove a virus I had a while back and just couldn’t get rid of with anything else.

    And a little advice — once you get rid of it, Google “Mozilla Firefox,” download that browser and never open Windows Internet Explorer again! You won’t miss it, believe me. I haven’t had a problem with viruses or spyware since I started using it. The tabbed browsing is very cool, too.

  2. jamey tucker

    Thanks Shari,
    Up most of the night fooling with this thing. I finally deleted it, but it still won’t let me run my anti-virus program. I’m dropping off the computer with my computer expert this afternoon who promises he can get rid of this crap.

    I’m using Firefox now, but not all websites will load. Peggy’s website cannot be found in firefox. Don’t know why.

  3. Bearded Joe

    Jamey, I don’t think it’s Firefox that is keeping you from viewing Peggy’s website. I’ve had Firefox since November and have been able to view the Pegster’s blog up until this week. Now when I click on her blog, it asks me if I want to build my own blog. I don’t know what’s going on with that. It must be an effort by your former employer to keep people from reading her. Oh those fiends!
    I swear by Firefox which has helped cut my viruses and spyware problems by 90-percent. Also make sure you run adaware and spybot regurlarly as well as the anti virus programs.

  4. JC

    Odlly enough, I’ve been having the same thing happen to me on occasion when I try to view *your* blog…it’ll come up and try to get me to edit mine instead. But yours is the only one I’ve had that problem with. Blogger is WEIRD.

Leave a Reply

