The Office

I’m a big fan of “The Office” on the BBC. I’ve been watching it for a couple of years and love the humor. The lead character who created the show is spot-on as a goofy, needy office manager.

Now, America is hoping to do copy the success with “The Office”, airing on NBC Tuesday nights. I watched it last week and laughed. But couldn’t the producers at least be a little creative with the script? It’s almost verbatum to an episode from the original.

Steve Carell is pretty good as Michael Scott. Carell is the guy who played the mentally handicapped weatherman in “Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgandy”.

But if you want to see how this show is it’s funniest, look for it on the BBC. Same with “Coupling”. NBC never got it right when copying the British version.

What are the comedy writers in Hollywood doing anyway? Their’s not that much work these days with all of the reality shows. Shouldn’t they be on a retreat or something coming up with ideas and scripts for original comedy shows?

By the way, I was intrigued by “Chasing Farrah” on Nick at Night, but highly disappointed. As a former fan of Farrah Fawcett Majors from the old Charlies Angels days, I wanted to see a: how she looks 30 years after that show and b: what really goes on in the life of a former celebrity. But it’s too contrived. Somebody get Ryan O’Neal a ticket to somewhere where video cameras don’t exist.

This show isn’t “reality”. It’s two washed-up stars trying to entertain again. How I wish the “Love Boat” was still on the air. At least when Captain Stubing was around these old celebs had a place to go, and they were kept in a one-hour window on a Saturday night. (see: Kirstie Alley, Gary Busey, Anna Nicole Smith)

4 Comments

Filed under Misc.

4 responses to “The Office

  1. mike

    I’m another fan of The Office. I’ve seen the two seasons, but not the Christmas special, yet. I caught a few minutes of the NBC version and man is it awful. They didn’t copy the idea of the British original, they also sitcom-ised it American style. You can always sense this is acting on a set, with lines and blocking, etc., where you never could with the original. Bleh.

    BTW, you know that Coupling was a British clone of Friends, right? It was a huge smash in Britain. So the American Coupling as a clone of a clone!

  2. jamey tucker

    good point mike. My wife doesn’t like either BBC show, says she can’t ‘get’ British humor. I say funny is funny.

    I never have the feeling the British actors are acting. They seem like real people (an awful lot like some of the people I’ve worked with in the past).

    I didn’t make a point to watch the office tonight. Guess it didn’t leave much of an impression on me last week.

  3. jamey tucker

    by the way Mike. we really need you back.

  4. mike

    I’m a huge fan of Britcoms, most especially the witty stuff like BlackAdder and Fawlty Towers.

    “Baldrick, disease and deprivation stalk our land like… two giant… stalking things.”

    But I also like As Time Goes By, which is so sweet and slight. I could watch Geoffrey Palmer and Judith Dench doing just about anything.

    Heaven help me, I’ve even gotten into the soap-opera-ish Ballykissangel!

    If only WKNO would start buying Britcoms produced in the last twenty years.

Leave a Reply

