Second Guessing My Decision

Call it job acceptance remorse, call it crazy, call it whatever you want but I’m seriously having second thoughts about taking the job I accepted on Friday.

Shortly after I told them “yes”, I started running into people who made me re-think the decision. The first was a guy who used to have the job who told me what to expect. I can’t go into details here, but his experience was the first of four to make me think twice.

I blew it off though, got to have a job. I can take whatever the position dishes out, no matter how unpleasant it is. No matter how much time it takes away from my family. No matter how miserable I might be. I was still planning to take it.

But I knew. I knew it was not where God was leading me. God had given me the idea for the ACTS Network and prepared me to do it well. I spoke to a good friend who told me taking the job would be a mistake.

Then, while picking up Lauren from church one of the ministers told me he needed me to do a couple of videos for him. That was God telling me He has something great for me, but only if I depended on Him, not on a job with a company doing something totally different.

Last night I emceed a concert at the DeSoto Civic Center where I ran into a pastor from another church. I had met with him once before and presented him with the ACTS Network. He had seemed interested at the time but I never heard back from him.

The first thing he said was “Jamey, I’m so glad to see you, I’ve been meaning to call you about some videos and other projects I need you to do for me.” I told him about the job, what it requires and he helped me understand the full scope of what I was about to do.

He prayed for me. He prayed that God would reveal to me what He has in store. Bro. David Jett didn’t tell me to “not” take the job, he just encouraged me to follow my heart and what I feel God has planned for me.

So there you have it. You might call me crazy, you might call me irresponsible. You might call me stupid. But what you can’t call me is someone who’s not following his heart.

I have a full week of meetings with clients who need video work done now. I have phone calls to e-mail responses the last 3 days from churches interested in subscribing to the ACTS Network. And I have to tell a company I have reconsidered my decision to throw all of that away.

1 Comment

Filed under Misc.

One response to “Second Guessing My Decision

  1. That is a really good tip especially to those new to the blogosphere. Simple but very precise information… Thanks for sharing this one. A must read post!

Leave a Reply

