A New Year, A New Job

My wishes came true. The weather was rotten and I was able to get a lot of work done today on the video project for the church. I also had another wish come true.

I got the phone call today. The Memphis company I’ve been interviewing with for the past month called to offer me the position. Even though there isn’t much thinking to do about it, I told them I’d sleep on it and call them back tomorrow or Monday.

It’s a great job with a great company with a great history and even better future. I’ll be making more than I ever did in tv and will be, wait for it….

a manager!

It’s going to be a challenging job, one that I won’t be able to just show up and do well, I’ll have to work harder than I’ve ever worked in my life. There’s some travel involved and I should be able to see parts of the country I’ve never seen before.

The only drawback is I’ll have to push my video production business aside. That’s not going to be easy. I started Rain Dog Pictures nearly 7 years ago and have seen it grow to be a business that I can earn a living.

So, Cameron and the kids and I are going out tomorrow night to celebrate with a big dinner at our favorite restaurant. We might even go inside instead of ordering through the drive-through.

Just kidding.

Also, talk about timing, the Commercial Appeal is set to run an article about the ACTS Network in tomorrow’s edition. It’s a story they’ve been working on for several months. James Dowd, the newspaper religion editor interviewed me and they took several photographs on one of my video shoots. I’m excited to see how it turns out. This will be the fourth newspaper article on ACTS since late last summer.

I’m not sure what kind of response the company that offered me the job might have after seeing the article, but they know everything I’ve been up to so there shouldn’t be any surprises to them. It may spawn a new discussion though on what I’ll do with ACTS after I take the job.

I’ve got a plan to give the churches what they want and still be able to devote all of my time to the new job. I’ll explain it tomorrow.

j

Leave a comment

Filed under Misc.

Leave a Reply

