Coming to a Newspaper Near You

This was an interesting day.

I had what might be my last interview with the Memphis company. It was unlike any other interview I’ve ever had because the person asking the questions was actually at Rockefeller Center in NYC. A tele-conference interview. A little strange, but things seemed to go well.

I don’t know what I will do if they offer me the job, I’m sure I’ll take it but I’ll still wonder if it’s the right thing to do. They keep telling me what a demanding job it is, almost like they’re trying to talk me out of it.

After the interview I went by Peabody Place where the station I USED to work at does a morning show. I saw a few people I haven’t seen since I left the station, and then I had to go by the tv station to pick up a raincoat I had left in the coat closet.

A buddy on the assignment desk brought it out to me, but a few people overheard his phone conversation with me and came out to say hi. I wish I could have talked to them more, but I really didn’t want to be in the parking lot any longer than necessary.

I was anxious to get out of there, but saw Bobby, a good friend of mine who’s a photographer. His wife Cindy is recovering from cancer treatments and I hadn’t gotten an update on her in a while. He told me how much he missed me being there, and I did too.

Say a prayer for Cindy and Bobby tonight, I will too.

After the stop I ran home to meet a Commercial Appeal reporter who’s doing a story on the ACTS Network for the paper. James Dowd is the religion editor and we’ve been trying to get together for awhile. He says the story will run in Friday’s paper unless something happens. I’ll post a link to it when it runs.

After our interview I ran off to First Baptist to shoot part of a story on the spirituality of young people for the ACTS Network, and get some shots for the church’s stewardship video as well.

I’ll be working on the spirituality story tomorrow, the stewardship video and try to write a few scenes for Rain Dog. I hope the weather is rotten.

j

Leave a comment

Filed under Misc.

Leave a Reply

