Good to hear from good people

Email is supposed to make communications easier and much more efficient, but it’ll do nothing if we don’t use it.

Case in point: Last night I sent out e-mails updating people on everything that’s happened to me and my family in the past 6 or 7 months. When I hit the “To” button to address the e-mail I was shocked to see how many addresses were listed from good friends that I hadn’t heard from or e-mailed in years.

My college roomate, former co-workers, friends from high school, buds, peeps and old girlfriends were there too.

I sent the e-mail out to about a dozen people and within hours started hearing back from people.

An old roomate now in Indianapolis said he’d lost my e-mail address over the past few years. We’ve both gotten married and have children (3 for me, 2 for him). Lucky for us both that he’s kept his ISP the last 7 years.

These folks aren’t just some casual acquaintances, we’re talking very good friends here. I’ve gotten such a kick out of hearing from these people and I hope we touch base long enough to catch up on everything that’s been going on since we last spoke.

You know, e-mail has gotten so easy and such a part of our lives that we rarely use it in it’s most personally rewarding way. We spend more time sending junk to the trash folder than we do staying in touch with the people we’ve met through the year.

Go through your address book tonight and send a shout out to those folks you haven’t heard from in a while. You might be surprised at who’s waiting to hear from you.

Leave a comment

Filed under Misc.

Leave a Reply

